West Virginia League Elects Table Officers Following 87th Annual Meeting — 4/28/23

Awards, and CULAC winners also announced

Tom Walker, Universal FCU, Huntington, WV was elected Chairman of the West Virginia Credit Union League board of directors at the board’s re-organizational meeting immediately following the League’s 87th Annual Meeting. Walker previously served as Chairman in 2010 and 2011.

Other board officers that were elected include:

First Vice Chairman – Mike Dean, Hope FCU, Bridgeport, WV;

Treasurer - Sherry Peck, Martinsburg V.A. FCU, Martinsburg, WV;

Secretary – Cindy Dickey, Fairmont FCU, Fairmont, WV.

Awards, Recognition and Resolutions

The 87th Annual Meeting concluded on Saturday, April 22 following a mix of social and educational activities, living up to its theme of Connect ’23.

Willow Island FCU Director, Jim Janes was presented the William Bryan Hawkins Award, the League’s highest annual honor for volunteers.

Home FCU’s Manager/CEO Natisha Swiger was presented the Pacesetter Award as a symbol of excellence among paid staff among West Virginia’s credit unions.

Credit unions in attendance that were recognized for notable anniversaries included: Accepting on behalf of his credit union was Charlie Blankenship, National FCU, Bluefield who received 75th anniversary League and CUNA recognition certificates; Randal Christopher, The United FCU, Morgantown, accepted League and CUNA recognition certificates on behalf of his credit union for their 50th year anniversary.

The Parkersburg Chapter received the Challenge of the Chapters Award Cup for a second year in a row for their efforts in 2022. Chapter President Kathy Dye and Chapter board members were on hand to receive the award which is based on their outstanding chapter participation.

First Choice America Community FCU was presented the state level Dora Maxwell Award for their outstanding social responsibility projects in their community.

Fairmont FCU’s mascot, Count EARN’est the SAVERtooth Tiger, made a personal appearance to receive a CUNA recognition certificate for his runner-up finish in the national Mascot Madness contest which was in its inaugural year.

League Chairman Mike Tucker was recognized for his League induction into the Credit Union House Hall of Leaders which took place in Washington DC on February 22. Established in 2002, Credit Union House is located on Capitol Hill and is owned by each of the state League/Associations, CUNA, and AACUL.

Tucker, who serves as President/CEO of West Virginia Central FCU joins former League President Ken Watts as the second credit union representative from West Virginia to be inducted into the Hall of Leaders. The award provides lasting recognition to leaders who have made an impact on the credit union movement at the local, state, and national levels.

Both Hope FCU and Kemba Charleston FCU were recognized for their contributions to the League Designated Fund which is administered by the National Credit Union Foundation. Kemba Charleston FCU is a regular contributor to the Designated Fund from Charitable Donation Account (CDA) investment earnings be directed toward a 501c3 charity of their choice.

One resolution was presented to the meeting delegates, by Resolutions Committee Chairman, Tom Walker. The resolution, accepted by the delegates, pledged that the West Virginia Credit Union League will always fully recognize, support, and pay tribute to all of our nation’s military members, veterans, and to all Honor Guards who perform noble deeds for the fallen during military funeral services.

A total of $6,550 was raised in the CMN Credit Unions For Kids charity auction on Thursday evening. Numerous prizes were auctioned off by professional auctioneer Tom Wade who maintained a quick, but humorous cadence throughout the evening.

The following made auction donations:

Bayer Heritage FCU, Cha Tel FCU, Eastern Panhandle FCU, Fairmont FCU, First Choice America Community FCU, Harrison County Chapter, HOME FCU, Hope FCU, Kanawha Valley Chapter, KEMBA Charleston FCU, Long Reach FCU, Lorna Meador, Mountain Heritage FCU, Parkersburg Chapter, Peoples FCU, Doug Reeder, Rich Schaffer, Star USA FCU, Weirton Wellsburg Chapter, Willow Island FCU, WV Central FCU, and an anonymous basket donation.

The CULAC hybrid sweepstakes raised a total of $1,635 and announced four winners from each day of eligibility. Thursday winners included Linda Cattrell, First Choice America Community FCU of a Simply Safe Home Security System and Lisa Bennett, HOPE FCU who won a CULAC Gear Combo.

Friday’s winner of a DeWalt Power Drill/Driver Set was Doug Reeder, WV Central FCU.

Saturday’s winner of the Ninja Foodie 7 in 1 was Ken Watts, WV Central FCU.

Each day’s drawing was conducted by CULAC officials.

The 2024 League Annual Meeting will be held in Charleston, but a location and exact dates will be announced at a later time.

                                                                 # # #